WordPress Blogging 101: Introduce Yourself

Day One of WordPress’ Blogging 101 course and the topic is “Who I am and why I am here?”. The hard ones first, eh?

As far as who I am, take a look at my page entitled Reporting for Business (did I really write that seven years ago? How time flies!) as well as Roberta Kedzierski/Reporting for Travel, for a taster.

Apart from the fact that I am a bilingual (English/Italian) journalist living between Milan and Lake Lugano in Italy, and am the author of Roberta Kedzierski’s Thinking Allowed what else do you need to know? That I live with my husband, Mike Snyder, who’s an illustrator by training, and whose blog Mike Snyder Illustrates is also a creation of mine. And, like this present site, could do with some work. Take a look anyway, and promise I will add more material here too. (For a start, there are the images from Mike’s show at Porto Ceresio, which ran from 6 to 15 June 2014, and for which this is all I have managed to produce to date.)

So, reading between the lines, you can see why I have signed up to Blogging 101: Zero to Hero. I have the site, and have had for some time, but I cannot find the time to generate new stories and post them, even though when I get going, I love it!

Coming to the questions posed in today’s assignment, which is entitled, not too surprisingly “Introduce Yourself”, and where we are asked “write and publish a ‘who I am and why I’m here’ post”

Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

I am happy for my stories to be read, I write about places I have been to (and even some that I haven’t, but more on that another time), as well as events that I have attended and, sometimes, have been involved in arranging. In the latter case, these include Mike’s exhibitions, as well as the site for our local community information office for which I am responsible, and which is in Italian this time.

What topics do you think you’ll write about?

I will continue to write about places I have visited, with images where possible, especially as it’s hard to find information on many of these places in English. Which may sound strange as it would be easy to assume that, by now, just about everywhere in Italy has been documented, especially if you consider that my main stomping ground includes Milan, Lake Como, Lake Maggiore (both Lombardy and Piedmont shores), as well as the area of Switzerland just over the border from us (a matter of fifteen minutes by car), so that would mean Lugano, Morcote, and the Ticino area as a whole. In point of fact, and I have checked of course, there are still so many places for which information is missing. Possibly because there are so many lovely places over and above the main sites. One example?

This Renaissance villa, with beautiful gardens that include a water staircase, is just five kilometers from where we live. Still a private home, it is not open to view that often (just Sundays and public holidays, 9.30-12noon, 2.30-7pm, from April to October, more here), and is not on a main tourist route, so it is not surprising that it is little known. But should people be told about it? I think so!

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

I would love for all those who like Italy, and are maybe return visitors, to take a look at some of the beautiful places to see in this area, which is in the region of Lombardy and in province of Varese. Some 50 kilometres north of Milan, Varese has its own lake (Lago di Varese, surprise, surprise!), as well as sharing Lake Lugano with the Switzerland’s Canton Ticino, and Lake Maggiore with the Piedmont region, as well as with the Ascona area of the abovementioned Canton Ticino.

It’s not a one-way street. I’d be delighted to hear from people who have suggestions for other places to visit round here, or even elsewhere. For, although I enjoy exploring in the immediate neighbourhood, I also love venturing further afield when I can. On this point, look out for my coverage of northern Sardinia, which I had the pleasure of visiting in early-October 2014. It’ll be a tale of two or more cities, of great places to stay and eat, of an island-penitentiary, white albino donkeys, Catalan architecture, a hospital for injured and ailing sea-creatures, astounding archeological finds courtesy of the Nuragic culture, caves, beaches, not to mention the magnificent hospitality of all the people we met.

If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

If I can keep up the pace and discipline myself to writing every day, I will have made some inroads into making more places in Italy better-known, which would make me happy, and also my readers too!

